IMLAY CITY — Students in the Imlay City Schools Wind Ensemble and Concert Band will move on to compete at the state level in April.

Band students (front to back) include Asia Salcedo, Jojo Hintz, Winnie Mutch, Cadence Chirikas, Kiley Schultz, Greyson Shadbolt and Kara Broder.

Members of the groups took part in the Michigan School Band & Orchestra Association (MSBOA) District 3 Band and Orchestra Festival at Carman-Ainsworth High School on Saturday, February 24, 2023.

The Wind Ensemble and Concert Band both earned First Division (Superior) ratings, therefore qualifying for the state competition, says Dr. Dina Tallis, director of curriculum and instruction at Imlay City Schools in a press release.

At the same time, Imlay City Schools choir students participated in the Michigan School Vocal Music Association (MSVMA) District 3 Solo and Ensemble Festival at an event at Mt. Morris High School. Vocal and choir teacher Caleb Sinclair, stated that “our students performed with artistry and professionalism, and received helpful feedback and great scores for their performances. Every event that attended medaled, with four events receiving a Division-II Rating (Good) and five events receiving a top Division-I Rating (Excellent)! Many students also qualified for participation in State Solo & Ensemble Festival.”

Mr. Sinclair added that “these students put in a considerable amount of preparation for this event, and I think I speak for myself and Mrs. Usealman (piano accompanist) when I say how proud I am of them. These are wonderful kids, and terrific musicians, and it is an honor to work witclassified adh them on a daily basis.”

Vocal and Choir accolades include:

Division 2 Ratings (State S&E qualifiers marked with an asterisk):
•Lakynn Alessandrini and Shelby Belan (duet)*
•Haley Stallwood and Annabelle Jones (duet)
•Haley Stallwood and Madisyn Robberstad (duet)*
•Raelynn Wright & Addison Schoonover (duet)*

Division 1 Ratings (All qualifying for State S&E):
Payton Day; Amarah Eddy; Lillian Jones; Audrina Rodda; Spartan Vox:
Lakynn Alessandrini; Nevaeh Alessandrini; Shelby Belan; Laela Bhatti; Seyanna Clark; Christina Diaz; Madison Fileccia; Annabelle Jones; Raelynn Wright; DeLana Zaebst.