Candidates file to run for local, state offices


TRI-CITY AREA — The filing deadline has come and gone for candidates and it’s now clear just who’s names will appear on the August and November election ballots.

Those seeking public office had until Tuesday, April 19 to file the necessary paperwork with county clerks and the Michigan Secretary of State. The deadline to withdraw from filing was Friday, April 22.

The ballot will feature many new names, especially for state and federal offices, due to redistricting.

State-level filers

All of the Tri-City area will be in Michigan’s new 9th Congressional District. Those who’ve filed include Bruce Township’s Lisa McClain who currently serves as the 10th District Representative. She’s being challenged by fellow Republican Michelle Donovan of New Baltimore. The winner of that contest will advance to face off against Democrat Brian Jaye of Rochester in the November election.

In the 24th State Senate District, there won’t be an actual contest until November when Democrat Theresa Fougnie of Clarkston and Republican Ruth Johnson of Holly vie for the job.

The new 24th State Senate district includes the southernmost townships in Lapeer County, including Almont and Dryden.

In the 25th State Senate district, Republican Dan Lauwers of Brockway Twp. looks to keep his job. He’ll face just one challenge in November from Democrat Bert Van Dyke of St. Clair.

The new 25th district will continue to encompass St. Clair County and points north and south.

In the 26th State Senate District, Republican Kevin Daley looks to stay in office, albeit with a new district number. Currently he represents Lapeer County in the 31st district.

In August he’ll face a challenge from Republican Sherry Marden of Davison and the winner of that contest advances to November to vie against Democrat Charles Stadler of Vassar.

The 26th State Senate district includes most of Lapeer County including Imlay City and the townships of Attica, Imlay, Goodland and Arcadia.

Five candidates have filed to represent the Tri-City area in Michigan’s House of Representatives—Democrats Mark Lingeman of Metamora and Robert Majchrzak of Richmond along with Republicans Jaime Greene of Richmond, Michael Pratt of Allenton and Frank Wasung of Ray Township.

The winners from each party’s contest in August will then face off in November.

The new 65th State House district includes Dryden, Almont, Attica, Imlay, Goodland, Arcadia, Berlin, Mussey and Lynn townships, the city of Imlay City and villages of Almont, Capac and Dryden, among others.

For judicial filings, Robert Crosby of Port Huron will challenge incumbent 31st Circuit Judge Cynthia Lane in St. Clair County.

In Lapeer County, Metamora’s Michael Nolan was the only candidate to file for the open 40th Circuit judgeship.

The same is true in St. Clair County where incumbent Michael Lee Hulewicz will not face any challengers in his re-election bid as 72nd District Judge.

In Lapeer County

Those candidates who filed with the Lapeer County Clerk’s office include:

•Incumbent Road Commissioner Les Nichols and challenger John Howell who are both seeking a six-year term on the board

•Gary Howell, David Rouse and incumbent Gary Roy who are seeking to represent District 2 on the county’s board of commissioners. District 2 includes Goodland Township.

•Katie Jostock-Poniatowski, C. Ian Kempf and Truman Mast who want to become the next District 5 representative on the board of commissioners. District 5 includes Imlay, the eastern half of Attica and Arcadia townships and the city of Imlay City.

•In District 6, which includes the western half of Attica Township, David Eady, William Hamilton and Gregory Wise have thrown their hats in the ring

•Incumbent Bryan Zender will not face any challengers in his bid for another term as District 7 representative.

All are Republicans.

In St. Clair County

Those candidates who filed with the St. Clair County Clerk’s office include:

•Democrats Satina Ritter and Frederic Fuller along with Republicans Carolyn Richards and Steven Simasko are hoping to become the next District 1 County Commissioner. Incumbent Greg McConnell is not seeking re-election in the district that includes Mussey and Lynn townships and the village of Capac.

•Democrat John Pettinato and Republicans William Gilmer and David Rushing have filed for the District 6 commissioner race. Rushing currently represents Berlin Township in that district.