IMLAY CITY — Imlay City had four of their players recognized on the Michigan High School Division 3 All-State boys’ soccer squad which was announced recently.

Giovani Torres, a junior midfielder, earned a spot on the second team.

Sergio Galiana, a junior forward, was a third team pick.

Edson Zepeda and Luis Barragan, both junior defenders, were named to the honorable mention portion of the team.

With their help, Imlay City won a Blue Water Area Conference title, a district championship and reached the regional semifinals before seeing their season wind down.

They are joined on the squad by:

First team- Jack Spencer, Elk Rapids, keeper; Luke Vantol, Grand Rapids South Christian, keeper; Kirby Eggers, Holland Christian, midfield; Thomas Drake, Williamston, midfield; Cannon Kawadri, Grosse Ile, defender; Spencer Ball, Elk Rapids, forward; Brandon Walters, Holland Christian, midfield; Levi DeRuiter, Grand Rapids South Christian, midfield; Ben Smitley, Grand Rapids Catholic Central, defender; Luke Hendler, Flint Powers, midfield; Andrew Palmer, Williamston, forward; Alex Cordone, Clawson; Ali Khaled, Grosse Ile, midfield; and Ben Farah, Country Day, forward.

Second team- Daniel Morgan, Holland Christian, keeper; Caleb Bond, Williamston, keeper; Jacob Puentes-Sanchez, Wyoming Lee, midfield; Nathan Isbrecht, Watervliet, forward; Mashall Warner, Delton Kellogg, forward; Colin Nieuwenhuis, Hudsonville Unity Christian, midfield; Drew Matyunas, Richmond, forward; Aidan Parkin, Williamston, forward; Anthony Redente, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard, midfield; Jon Duke, Grosse Ile, midfield; Shane Heiser, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard; forward; Jerenomo Ballesty, Notre Dame Prep, defender; Seth LaPointe, Traverse City Christian, forward; Nolan Carroll, Elk Rapids, midfield; and Kevin Hubbell, Benzie Central, midfield.

Third team- Hayden Watson, Grosse Ile, keeper; Nicolas Santina, Boyne City, keeper; Clayton Lafayette, Grosse Ile, defender; Arvin Pandiyan, Country Day, forward; Nick Lanfear, Clawson; Matt Stevens, Howard City Tri-County, forward; Treyton Siegert, Gladwin, forward; Joel Carter, Boyne City, midfield; Henry Reineck, Traverse City Christian, midfield; Kendall Morris, Frankenmuth, forward; Luke Mattar, Flint Powers, defender; Ryker Johnecheck, Williamston, forward; Isaac Saavedra, Dowagiac, midfield; Connor Foley, Grand Rapids West Catholic, defender; and Diego Tiscareno, Grand Rapids South Christian, midfield.

Honorable mention- Owen Thieme, Notre Dane Prep, keeper; Joseph Woloszyk, Lutheran North, keeper; Chase Gabowitz, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard, forward; Ty Garza, Grosse Ile, defender; Trevor Lesnau, Lutheran North, midfield; Cole Heiser, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard, defender; Kyle Gougeon, Clawson, forward; Massimo Vitale, Notre Dame Prep, midfield; Connor Adams, Country Day, defender; Vincent Redente, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard, midfield; Carter Kosmet, Michigan Center, forward; Brennan Goodrow, Onsted, midfield; Nikolas Kosmet, Michigan Center, midfield; Zach Hastings, Watervliet, keeper; Ethan Scholten, Grand Rapids Covenant Christian, forward; Henry Weller, Dowagiac, defender; Brady Bornas, Watervliet, midfield; Edgar Vazquez, Wyoming Lee, midfield; Landon Culver, Holland Christian, forward; Nolen Sperring, Grand Rapids West Michigan Aviation Academy, midfield; Diego Pacheco, Grand Rapids Catholic Central, midfield; John Torres, Hillsdale, midfield; Hector Jiminez, midfield, Delton Kellogg; Fernando Torres, Comstock, midfield; Hunter Licht, Birch Run, keeper; Jaden Gil, Richmond, keeper; Braeden Traver, Freeland, midfield; Johnny Hart, Williamston, midfield; Collin Hale, Frankenmuth, defender; Evan Baker, Frankenmuth, forward; Connor Lemerand, Alma, forward; Jackson Gil, Richmond, midfield; Adam Maust, Unionville Sebewaing, midfield; Nick Kumar, Saginaw Swan Valley, defender; Josh Otten, Lansing Catholic, midfield; Matthew Palmer, Williamston, defender; Liam Prins, Howard City Tri-County, keeper; Gavan Bignall, Muskegon Oakridge, midfield; and Arturo Romero-Serrano, Muskegon Oakridge, forward.

Kevin Kissane

Kevin Kissane has been covering high school sports for the Tri-City Times since 1985. When not standing on a field or court with his camera and notepad, he enjoys golf, travel and family. Kevin is a 1980 graduate of Capac High School, and is also a grad of St. Clair Community College and earned a degree in journalism from Central Michigan University.