Every month, St. Clair County Community Mental Health (SCCCMH) recognizes individuals and/or teams for their extraordinary contributions to the Rights Protection System, which protects the human rights of individuals with a mental illness. Individuals and teams are recognized for demonstrating dignity and respect to individuals with mental illness, for innovation and creativity that resulted in improved service outcomes, for enriching or enhancing a recipient’s recovery/discovery journey, and for taking actions to strengthen communication and cooperation throughout the Rights Protection System.

Award recipients receive a letter of congratulations, certificate of recognition, and a “Rights Champion” memento. In addition, “Rights Champions” are highlighted on the SCCCMH Facebook page and are eligible for the 2021 individual/team of the year awards presented during the SCCCMH Annual Awards Breakfast.

The Rights Champion Teams for the months of May, July, and August are respectively, the Wells Group Home with team members Kim Moore, Melissa Cope, Michael Fetterly Shailynn Milligan, Charlie Scott, James Talbot, and Pam Zimmerman; the Stonybrook Group Home with team members Sheridan Brown, Christina Dorcy, Whitley Gerow, Kristee Hoffmann, Tammie Kulka, Jeremy Nichols, Jennifer Rich, Susan Rusch, Victoria Scheffler, Dorothy Wareham, and Marcina Wheelihan; and the COVID-19 Support Team of Community Enterprises of St. Clair County with team members Amy Adams, Shelly Bailes, Ruth Faulkner, Melissa Landon, Caitlin Reynolds, Susan Rusch, Patty Shine, Ann Thornton, and Dawn Vertigan.

They were all recognized for Service Excellence, defined as demonstrating behavior that, although not required or expected, served to enrich or enhance a recipient’s recovery/discovery journey.

Honored in August for providing Dignity and Respect, defined as demonstrating behavior which exemplifies the value of expressing respect for recipients, was Oakleaf Group Home with team members Miya Briggins, Diana Brogan, Denise Cooper, Wendy Covrea, Ashley Cureton, Mary Egan, Danielle Kindred, Pam Lawrence, Fawn Martin, Mary Moak, Anny Murray, Courtney Potvin, Adam Schneider, and Mary Stone.

Congratulations and thanks to all these individuals for their outstanding efforts!

The Rights Champion for the month of June is Lynn St. Coeur of IMPACT for Innovation and Creativity, resulting in improved service outcomes for recipients.

Thank you and congratulations Lynn!

St. Clair County Community Mental Health provides public services and supports to adults with mental illnesses, children with serious emotional disturbances, individuals with developmental disabilities and persons with co-occurring substance use disorders.

For more information, crisis intervention or to find out if you qualify for public services, please call the Access Center at 1-888-225-4447. Support is available 24 hours-a-day, 7 days a week. General information is also available at the St. Clair County Community Mental Health website, www.scccmh.org or on the agency’s Facebook page, www.facebook.com/SCCCMH.

—St. Clair County Community Mental Health